on Pain and Photography..in no particular order..and some about bookmaking

I made a photogrphy book about something…Big deal..not really..

Well it sort of was a big deal when the idea first grazed my mind and by grazed I mean, ripped the thick Turk of a hair right out of my skull in a Bourbon drenched night at Ganev’s loft in Old Montreal.

Never had an idea hurt before. the good old physical pain. the kind that reminds you of your importance and If I’ve learned anything about the importance of pain from my history teacher in highschool, it is that she was unfathomably boring and will forever be single, which is more pain than you and I can handle. This makes her pain immutable and forever, sort of like how my book should be.

There are two kinds of pain however. The one of which you will hear in depth from athletes on the green, soldiers at war, and the anthelopes in the Serengeti. It is no use to write about that pain as I have not been to war or even ran a marathon or even grown hooves in the plains. I will talk about the other one, the one that is on the pages of white.

I have dealt with that pain to an extend. Even though sometimes it burps out of my dreams to slap me across the face again, i have learned to turn the other cheek so that it will snap my head back in the direction i once was looking.

What I will ask from you is simple.

Come be the anthelope with me..

I will be giving a talk about my journey from the first photograph to the realization and printing of my book during the Vancouver Art/Book Fair 2013.

All this will take place Sunday October the 6th at 3:00pm at the Annex of Vancouver Art Gallery.

more information about the rest of the amazing weekend go to the = = => Vancouver Art/Book Fair Website

Then there is this mesmerizing poster

Image

 

2 responses

  1. Congratulations! I hope the talk goes smashingly well and you have a great time!

    September 22, 2013 at 1:18 pm

  2. Thank you christian! I am nervous and excited to share my experience. One could benefit greatly from my journey.

    September 22, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Leave a Reply

